Write On – Pen Turning

Turning something to write with…

Chrome Pen and Pencil Set in Maple

chrome-set.jpgI made a sibling to my Chrome Cigar Pen in Maple. With one blank remaining from an order of 5 Maple blanks, I decided to make a Chrome Pencil to match a nice Cigar Pen already posted. The turning was nearly perfect, and the finish came out great. Unfortunately, the pencil part of the kit doesnt work too well.

The Pencil mechanism didn’t fit well from the start, and trying to force it just broke a part of the mechanism. I have to try to find just that piece for a replacement. But for now, it looks like a great matched set for my desk blotter, not not yet for writing.

Has anyone else had trouble with the Cigar pencils? I’d love some pointers.

October 23, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi – I haven’t turned a Cigar pen or pencil yet, but I am having trouble with my American Classic pencil from Woodcraft. It looks great (beautiful acrylic from Woodcraft also) but the pencil part is disappointing. Not least of which because there seems to be no info on the Woodcraft site as to what size lead it takes!

    Hope you solved your pencil problem, and I hope I manage to solve mine as well 🙂

    Nils
    (You can see some of my pens at http://www.lumberjocks.com/jocks/Nils)

    Comment by Nils Davis | December 19, 2007


Leave a Reply

